top of page
  • Eli Anthony

Coldhearted Heir- a good enough series intro

Updated: Aug 27, 2020



 

BLURB

Everything changed the night my boyfriend died. What should’ve been the most special moment of my life turned into a nightmare. Because of Hunter Chargill, I lost the love of my life. I’ll never forgive him.  Hunter used to be one of my best friends, but it turns out he’s nothing more than an arrogant a-hole determined to make my life a living hell. But he should’ve known you can’t break something that’s already broken. I manage to avoid him until my freshman year at Trinity Academy. Our cruel words and intimidating touches quickly spark a flame, and instead of us going down in a blaze of hatred, desire sizzles to life. I know I’m in trouble when I start enjoying our fights. Instead of wanting to punch him, I find myself wondering what his lips would feel like on mine. A stupid game. One kiss. And my perfectly constructed walls come crashing down around me. I should feel guilty and make Hunter pay for what he’s done. But sometimes a tormentor becomes a protector.


 

REVIEW


Enemies-to-lovers is now one of my favourite themes to read, so of course I was buzzing to pick this one up and it started out good, but then it sort of plateaued after some time. It was a good book, but I felt more could have happened to make the book even more interesting.


When Jade's boyfriend, Brady, commits suicide, she automatically thinks Hunter had something to do with it- considering he was the one that separated them and took him away when they were about to do the deed. As a result, she begins to completely loathe him and wants nothing to do with him anymore. Years go by and she is successfully able to avoid Hunter but now they have to attend the same school. At the beginning, their interactions are fuelled with so much anger and disdain, but of course the anger only fuels the passion that seems to be burning between them beneath the surface, ready to consume them both.



I have mixed feelings towards Jade. I understand she was absolutely pained to lose her first love and boyfriend, but to blindly blame Hunter for years, was a no for me. I wanted to throttle her on more than one occasion so she could open her eyes and actually figure out what happened to Brady, and not just assume Hunter had anything to do with it, and continue to ruin her relationship with him and all their friends. It was painful to read how broken she was, but at the same time I wished she'd pause and reason things out.


And Hunter, bless his soul for taking Jade's sh*t for as long as he did, I truly admire his patience. I cannot imagine how heartbreaking it must have felt to endure Jade's hate, especially considering how close they once were. He deserves all the stars for how gracious he was about everything.



The entire book was okay. I know this was the first book in this new series so it was mainly an introduction to the other characters as well as the dynamics between them all- you know, who likes who, who's friends with who, all that.



Will I read the other books in the series? Maybe.

But like I always say, give it a go, you might enjoy it more than I did. Plus of you've read the previous series about their parents, you'll definitely enjoy all the cameos.


Happy Reading!

xo

Eli


My Ratings: 3.75 STARS


My Recommendations

I Hate You -Ilsa Madden-Mills


IF LIFE EVER GETS TOO MUCH FOR YOU OR SOMEONE YOU KNOW, PLEASE REACH OUT TO SOMEONE YOU KNOW O CALL A SUICIDE CRISIS LINE NEAR YOU.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page