top of page
  • Eli Anthony

Because of Dylan- unexpectedly beautiful



 

BLURB


Whoever said the truth will set you free was lying. The truth won’t set me free. The truth will

destroy me.


Our relationship is forbidden.

I should stay away.

He’s a teacher.

I’m a student.

He lives by a code of ethics and truth.

I hide behind lies and misdirection. I have good reason to.

My childhood was a living nightmare.

It damaged me, hurt me, destroyed me.

No one knows what I’ve been through.

And I won’t let anyone know.

Especially not him.

Cold. Calculating. Judgemental. Professor Dylan Beckett.

But there’s something about the way he looks at me…

The way I feel when his eyes are on mine…

And I wonder what will happen if I open my heart.

Is a happy ever after ending even possible for someone as broken as me? Or will the truth

destroy everything I worked so hard for?


Some lessons can’t be learned in the classroom...


 

REVIEW


Let me start by letting you know I went into this completely blind. I barely read the blurb, had not read the other books in the series and have never read this author before so this was a completely fresh experience. When I say I was pleasantly surprised! I think from now on, I'll go in blind.


Once I saw this was a teacher-student romance, I was all in because I love these story lines, but this book was so much more than that. It dealt with so many important topics, like forgiveness, and abuse, and grieving, and acceptance, each beautifully explored.


Without giving away too much, 'Because of Dylan' is the story of Becca who has been through horrible ordeals in life, but no longer wants them to define her. In order to get better, she signs up for anonymous counselling where she meets Therapist 11, who is going to help her work through her troubles. While she is learning to be a better person and friend, she also has to deal with her confusing feelings towards Dylan- or Professor Dick, as she likes to call him. But, knowing how complicated a relationship would get, they have to decide how they are going to make it work or not have one at all.



Honestly, like 20% of this book was about Dylan and Becca's relationship- which took the meaning of slow burn to a whole other level. The other 80% was more so about Becca's journey- and I didn't mind that at all. I don't think I have ever had this much empathy towards a heroine before.


Becca was such a strong heroine. I was rooting for her to have a HEA so hard. This girl has been through unimaginable things and as a result, has become completely hardened, unwilling to feel anything that might cause her to show any emotions. Nevertheless, she knows she cannot live an 'unfeeling' life forever and seeks help. She wakes up everyday with a smile (even if its fake sometimes) and keeps going. She is definitely admirable.


Dylan, was just a gentleman, Calm, caring, understanding (insert more compliments). He was so sweet and funny and kind of alpha (which was unexpected). He too has his own baggage, but like Becca continues to fight and persevere.


There was definitely a ton of chemistry between them but what they had was more than that.These are two broken souls who complete each other and make themselves whole again.


I really enjoyed this book, and if you give it a try, you just might enjoy it too.


Happy reading

xo

Eli


My Ratings: 4 STARS


My Recommendations:

Slammed -Colleen Hoover

Dear Ava - Isla Madden-Mills

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page