top of page
  • Eli Anthony

Sicko- EPIC



 

BLURB


He was my foster brother.

He swore to protect me.

He failed.

They all failed.

I’m an open box of passé photographs, snapped in chaste daylight, but filtered in sepia. I’m the past that he tried to forget, and he was the future I needed. When he left six years ago, I screamed for him every night. But then it all stopped. My screams were suddenly muffled by cruelty, and further coaxed by pain.

But he has come back. He’s not the cute big brother I had a furtive crush on, or the bad boy, rich brat that I hated to love.

He’s the ruthless vice president of Wolf Pack MC, and he doesn’t answer to Royce Kane anymore.

He answers to Sicko.

 

REVIEW


There are a million thoughts running through my head after reading this, but I don't think I can justly describe what I just read. This book was delicious! From the first chapter to the last, I was hooked. Ms Jones, if you're reading, you owe me a drink!


Never have I read a book that was so confusing yet captivating, and so sexy. The writing was top notch. Amo's ability to keep you hooked and unsuspecting until the big reveal (which would shock the hell out of you) is sensational. We saw this in the Midnight Mayhem books, but Sicko is by far more suspenseful.


Plot aside, the characters were so well written! They added wit and humour and danger and a heaping of darkness to the book, complementing the overall tone perfectly. There wasn't one irrelevant character in this book, which tells me everything about this was well planned. It also makes me hate that this is a standalone. I would love to dig deeper into all their lives.


Royce and Jade were thick as thieves growing up but one day, Royce ups and leaves and Jade quickly realises the monsters under the bed are all around her too. Six years later though, Royce is back and is now a lot more ruthless than when they were kids. But Jade has changed too, as her life is now filled with a whole lot of darkness. It's only Royce than can save her, and it's only Jade that can save Royce from himself. They're each other's salvation, but the evil lurking around is determined to keep them apart.



Jade was a beautifully broken heroine. She has been through things most wouldn't wish on their worst enemy, and how she manages to overcome it all is something I admire. And Royce- broody, sinfully sexy and Jade's fiercest protector. That man would go through hell and back to make sure no hair on her head is harmed, all while resenting his feelings for her. He shouldn't want her but he can't help it. Jade is his soulmate.


The chemistry between Royce and Jade was so overwhelming it practically came off the page. Their hate to love you vibe only making things worse.



I don't want to say too much because I want you to go into this with your mind completely blank.


However, I will say that this book is the kind of dark that you proceed with caution. It will not be for everyone but if you can keep an open mind you'll love it.


Happy Reading!

xo

Eli


My Ratings: 5 STARS


My Recommendations: In Fury Lies Mischief- Amo Jones



26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page