top of page
  • Eli Anthony

Not My Romeo -another Madden-Mills hit



 

BLURB


We start off with a lie on Valentine’s Day.


My blind date isn’t the studious guy I expected: he’s a drop-dead gorgeous player with

sinful amber eyes. Somehow we end up at his penthouse. I blame the gin and tonic.

The next day I learn he’s Jack Hawke—bad-boy professional quarterback with a murky

past. The NDA he has me sign should be a warning that he isn’t a regular person.

Please. I sign it Juliet Capulet, so goodbye, famous football player with abs of steel, and good luck tracking down this small-town librarian.


But Jack keeps showing up in places I least expect him. Just when I’m sure he’s gone,

he waltzes into my community theatre and wins the part of Romeo to my Juliet. How’s a plain, mostly innocent girl like me supposed to resist a man like him?

Is Jack my real Romeo…or will this gorgeous football player only break my heart?


 

REVIEW


After reading Dear Ava, I was itching to get my hands on another Ilsa Madden-Mills book, and I was really looking forward to this one. I really liked Not My Romeo, not as much as Dear Ava though, but it was a good one.


When Ava is set up on a blind date, she accidentally thinks Jack is the guy- he's not. Jack doesn't correct her though, and surprisingly the date goes unexpectedly well (despite starting out rough). They decide to end the night with a bang - a very steamy bang, I might add.


The morning after however, is a different story. Ava learns who Jack is (a successful football player), and Jack can't get her out of his head. But, much to their surprises, fate keeps throwing them together and, well, you know the drill, will they or won't they?



There were things to like about this book.


For example, Jack's vulnerability. Heroes are usually bad boys, or alpha males or a-holes but not Jack. This man was as shy as they come. It was honestly so heartbreaking to read him struggle with social anxiety. We need to read books with more heroes like him. The men don't always have to be tough.


I also loved how confident Elena was. She was so quick-witted, and insanely forgiving. That woman definitely had a heart of gold.


That being said, there were parts that irked me too.


For one, the issue of the NDA. Why wouldn't Elena just sign it? especially when she learned how distrusting Jack was since he had been severally burned by people close to him. I thought it was selfish how she continually kept refusing to sign it. I mean I understand she didn't want to feel like Jack's other hook-ups, but once she saw how hard it is for him to trust she should have sucked it up and just signed, if only to make him more comfortable.



Jack and his trust issues also bugged me. I understand he had a horrible childhood and the problems with his ex, but he's a full grow man, who should know that not everyone is the same. He should have at least given Elena fair chance, instead of continuously thinking she's going to betray him. And his inability to speak out, while cute, was also frustrating.



Nevertheless, I finished the book and was satisfied with how it wrapped up. I hope you give it a go too. It may end up a favourite of yours, who knows?


Happy Reading!

xo

Eli


My Ratings- 4 STARS


My Recommendations:

Look The Part- Jewel E Ann

Home For Summer- J W Ashley


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page