top of page
  • Eli Anthony

Broken Knight- It was decent, but I expected more


This book was okay. After reading 'Pretty Reckless' I was salivating to learn more about Luna and Knight, but their story turned out to be underwhelming.


I feel this way because the book was so busy and it was hard to focus on the major characters. There was too much of Dean and Rosie, and Edie and Penn *swoon* and Daria, and the whole gang basically. So it was hard to pay attention to just Luna and Knight.


Of course they were still very dominant- cause it is their book, but still, I was looking more forward to Daria and Penn's appearance than knowing what was going on between Luna and Knight.


Nevertheless, I was curious about Luna ever since her appearance in 'Scandalous'. Even though she was a little girl in that book, I was eager to read how she grew up. From Scandalous, we learn that Luna is dealing with some trauma (stuff with her mum that resulted in her not speaking to anyone- except Edie and occasionally Knight). In this book, we explored her character even more and see her come out of her shell.


I thought Luna was just a quiet girl who simply went about her business, but as I read on, I found that she had some fire in her. BUT, I still found her somewhat irritating- especially when she contemplated her feelings for Knight, who was ready to be her whole world, should she let him. Like why?? you literally had someone who was ready to give you the stars and the moon- no, the WHOLE galaxy in fact. But you still had doubts. Yes, Knight was a perceived man whore (perceived being the key word here) but still, he absolutely loved Luna, but she just played him like a fiddle.



Knight on the other hand, was a whole other basket of drama. Like I have mentioned, He LOVED Luna. As in, he could be attached at her hip if she would let him. He may not have showed in in the best way at times, but still, you could tell. However, after one mishap between them he's on a downward spiral. Basically, Luna does something that makes him lose his shit and stops pining for her- he even gets a new girlfriend to make the point that he's over her.



Of course, it's all for show and he is still obsessed with all things Luna- Duh.


Reading the formation of their relationship was somewhat interesting, simply because it seemed like they had hurdle after hurdle to overcome. Luna had her not speaking thing, and then the thing she sis to Knight, and Knight had his own thing (I can't say what that 'thing' is without giving away spoilers- sorry!).


As a couple, you could feel the attraction. And even though it was sometimes annoying, it was refreshing to see Knight pining so hard for Luna- it's usually the other way around.The part I loved the most was Luna being there for Knight in his time of need, especially when the time came to take a step back from their relationship because she knew it was necessary in order for him to heal- we stan a selfless heroine.


There was a whole other story line in the middle of their love story that I can't type about because again -SPOILERS! (but email me if you want to know what it is!). But I will say that it completely wrecked me.


Honestly, it was an okay read, but you guys should definitely give it a chance, you might really enjoy it.


My Rating: 3 ADDICT STARS


My Recommendations:

Ruckus -L.J Shen

Pretty Reckless -L.J Shen

Scandalous -L.J Shen


Happy Reading!

xo

E



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page