top of page
  • Eli Anthony

Fake it 'til you Break it- a touching enemies to lovers romance

Updated: Mar 16, 2020


I went into this book expecting your typical enemies to lovers romance (you know what I mean by typical), and it was just that but somewhat better. This book was very cute, and I was smiling so hard at several points I had to put the book down to cool off (no joke).


We follow the story of Nico who is your asshole jock and Demi, a smart dancer with some sass- a match made in teen romance heaven.


They used to be friends but grew distant over the years. When they are paired together in chemistry class, however, Nico discovers that Demi is crushing hard on a football player and enlists himself to be a fake boyfriend to help Demi make the guy jealous.


After a little resistance, Demi finally agrees (because what could go wrong) and eventually, they catch feelings!


I will say (or type), the relationship development between these two characters was an EXTREMELY slow burn, and I found myself screaming at my screen for one of them to make a bloody move. But, the slow burn does creates magic between them and I enjoyed revelling in the intensity. It was raw and filled of so much heat, peaking at just the right time, in the perfect way.



There were unexpected twists that kept the plot interesting and elevated it from your typical enemies to lovers/ fake boyfriend or girlfriend story. I really enjoyed the book but I really wish the author dove more into those twists, and I felt the conflict resolution was too briefly explained. The story was definitely interesting but-



Overall, it was a really good book and I would read again.


My Rating: 4 ADDICT STARS


My Recommendations:

The Deal -Elle Kennedy

The Hardest Fall -Ella Maise


As always, let me know your thoughts about the book in the comment section and give me some recommendations!


Sending love!

xo

E


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page