top of page
  • Eli Anthony

Kisses and Lies- could’ve been better


 

BLURB

I met the devil in broad daylight. He was cold, dangerous, and nothing I knew I wanted. I should’ve known better. But I couldn't stay away from everything I never thought I’d need. So we made a deal—just our bodies. But the lines blurred without warning, and I soon found myself making another deal. I made the mistake of asking for forever, never knowing just how much the cold could burn. Now, I’m afraid that lies dressed as kisses are all we’ll ever have.

 

REVIEW


Kisses and Lies is about Marcus and Rochelle who first meet at a crematorium where Rochelle’s grandparents are being cremated. Out of sorts, Rochelle begins to talk to Marcus- a total stranger. They go to a bar and Rochelle propositions him. Yes people, she wants to sleep with him.

Unfortunately, nothing happens but weeks after the incident he‘s still on her mind (even if she still knows zilch about him). They eventually meet again and this time, cannot deny their mutual attraction. Thus begins their enemies-with-benefits relationship. Soon enough it becomes more (obviously) but, their relationship is definitely difficult as they both have to deal with their insecurities. Then things become even harder when another major event rocks Rochelle's world.

Rochelle and Marcus relationship was exactly how you would have expected and enemies-to-lovers/friends-with-benefits romance to go. They disliked each other but were attracted to one another so they had sex and feelings became involved then before you know it, they’re exchanging ‘I-love-you’s’.


What made it a bit more interesting is all the drama that came with the secondary characters. Those guys made it even harder for Rochelle and Marcus to finally be together.

That being said, I had a huge problem with the supporting characters. Particularly Rochelle's best friend and Marcus's brother. Both ANNOYED me to no end and made the book less enjoyable.


Rochelle was a good heroine. She was strong, independent, witty. She was great. And so was Marcus. He could be a bit stand-offish at times and was a bit of a meanie but at the end of the day you could tell he cared for Rochelle. He may not have shown it in the best way at times, but he cared.

To be honest, I really thought I was going to enjoy this book- I really did. But the overall mood was off. I would describe this as a ‘semi-dark’ book because although there are some dark elements it’s doesn’t go full dark. For me, it made it hard to connect with the book. There were some funny parts that I definitely enjoyed but overall I just wanted more. Plus There’s no epilogue and that’s a big no-no.



My Rating: 3 ADDICT STARS


My Recommendations:

I Dare You -Shantel Tessier


Happy Reading! xo

E

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page