top of page
  • Eli Anthony

Manhattan- meh.

Updated: Mar 16, 2020


Let me start by saying that I see what the author was trying to do, this was very much a friends to lovers romance however, everything else about the book was just average. At the end I was left feeling- meh.


This book is the fourth instalment of the 'Becker Brothers' series, and while I have not read the previous books, it pretty easy to pick up where they left off in terms of the overarching plot twist- which is good.


In this one, we follow the story of Kylie who has been in love with her best friend Mikey since she was eight years old.


But, Mikey never felt the same way and only saw her as a friend.. Instead he was head over heels, as in devastatingly in love with for Bailey Baker- who by the way broke his heart and left him in their senior year of high school to pursue a singing career in Nashville- even though they had planned their entire future together, and she knew Mikey's world revolved around her. Ruthless.


Now of course, Mikey is completely crushed and ends up depressed- as in he can't even listen to her voice on the radio without losing his shit, which I guess is expected but I mean, relax dude.


Anyway,Mikey then decides to move to Manhattan when the summer is over- yup, that's where the title comes from- so he can get away form all things Bailey Baker. But obviously, Kylie does not want this to happen (seeing as she is in love with him and all) and concocts a plan to make Mikey remember why he loves their hometown.

Then- you guessed it- Mikey sees what he's been missing and falls in love with Kylie too.


There's other stuff that goes on in the book, but I cannot lie, I was only paying attention for half of it. Sorry.


First of all, I don't like the title because it has not relevance to the plot of the story whatsoever. Its not like the story took place in Manhattan where they found love. No- it took place in Stratford.


Second, I was expecting a slow-burn friends to lovers romance, but it was all happening too quickly. I felt Mikey fell in love too fast, granted they share a connection and have known each other forever, I just wanted to see more of a spark happen- not Mikey having a eureka moment about Kylie when he sees her in a red bikini.


Even though their connection was built over the both of them losing a parent and being able to empathise with each other, I just wanted something more raw and groundbreaking to happen in the book.


There are some funny moments in the book that make it somewhat enjoyable, but overall it was just an okay book for me.




My Rating: 3 ADDICT STARS

My Recommendations:

The Perfect First -Maya Hughes


As always let me know what you thought of the book, and leave me with some recommendations!


Happy reading! xo

E





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page