top of page
  • Eli Anthony

Pretty Reckless- PENN, PENN, PENN

Updated: Mar 16, 2020


As this is the spin-off from the beloved 'Sinners of Saint' series, I had very high expectations going into this but I was very pleased with how this turned out.


This first instalment follows the story of Penn and Daria who hate each other because of an incident in the past that end up affecting both their lives (email me for the spoilers!). Years later, they are living together and of course, it doesn't go so well (at first).


I loved Daria. It's very rare we get a heroine like her. Usually the heroines are the nice girls who stay out of trouble but know how to defend themselves and others when necessary. Daria however, was a straight up bitch. A queen bee through and through. Girls like her are usually the villains. Personally, it was nice to get a heroine like her because it reinforced the idea that the villains are usually villains for a reason. They don't just wake up one day and decide to be mean (well at least some of them don't). I thought she was absolutely great.

Moving on. Can we please appreciate the greatness that it PENN. I think I have found a new book boyfriend! Everything about him- his intensity, his confidence, his crassness, his looks- just had me excited. Every time he spoke or I heard his thoughts, I was just captivated. He was the perfect hero and the perfect fit for Daria.







Together Penn and Daria were magic. Although they had a rocky start, Penn was definitely the yin to Daria's yang. Plus their love-to-hate-you relationship made for some very intense interactions between them.


Both characters are very dominant, but incredible flawed (especially Daria) so it was interesting to read how they handled their relationship and accepted each other's flaws. I thoroughly enjoyed reading them fall in love.


The story line itself was rather unique and I really did not know what to expect. The only thing I did not like was the ending. I feel the conflict resolution was a little unrealistic- but that's just my opinion. Apart from this, everything else about the book was fantastic.


After this read, I am definitely looking forward to reading the other kids' stories.


My Rating: 5 ADDICT STARS


My Recommendation:


Hope you enjoy this book!

Also, don't forget to leave comments about the book and recommendations on what you would like me to read next!


Happy reading!

xo

E

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page