top of page
  • Eli Anthony

The Jezebel- overwhelmingly romantic and empowering

Updated: Jul 27, 2020


 

BLURB

Stone Rivers is a sin I can’t commit.

After years of playing the trophy, puppet, perfectionist,

I’ve forgotten who I am.

Until the boy from my past walks back into my life.

Handsome as sin, charming beyond belief—Stone Rivers is temptation personified.

Our combustible chemistry shatters my resolve.

His blistering kisses remind me of everything I used to want.

But, our present is just as messy as our past,

And reckless as it may be, I can’t let him go.

My name is Regan Wilde.

I’m a mother, a sister, a daughter.

But Stone and I?

We’re a scandal in the making.

 

REVIEW


You need to get your hands on this book. This is definitely one for the ages. I mean honestly, just, wow.


The Jezebel is everything from romantic, to sexy, to angst-y, to dramatic and most of all women-empowering. It touches on women's struggles in society so truthfully. I have no choice but to STAN Miss Allen after this one.



This is the third book in the Rivers Wilde series, that explores the lives of the members of the two founding but rivalling families of a part of Houston. If you've read the other books, then you already know who Regan and Stone are (if you haven't, don't worry. This is very much a standalone and it's easy to pick up on the overall plot).


They meet when Regan is 18 and Stone, 10, and a friendship blossoms between them. Unfortunately, events occur that forces them to part ways, however, fate brings them together years later.


A LOT has happened to them in the years they've been apart but they don't let that stop them, choosing instead to embrace the feelings they have for one another. However, their bliss is short lived as new events begin rock their world, and really test their love.


Regan is definitely hands down one of my favourite heroines. She has sacrificed so much of her life for the sake of others, and sometimes I felt sorry for her and the life she could have had if she decided to be selfish just once. But make no mistake, she is not a 'weak' or 'yielding' woman. Yes, she may sacrifice her own happiness for others, but the woman is smart, strong and damn courageous.



Stone was the perfect hero. He believed in their love and fought for and with Regan through it all. He also had a mouth that could drop the panties off anyone! In his eyes Regan walked on water, and he would probably drink her bath water if she asked him. Yes- he was that much in love with her. What made me love Stone more than anything though, is that he wasn't scared or intimated by Regan being a strong woman. If anything, he encouraged her to take control over her life and seek independence. Again, no choice but to stan.



This is definitely more than a love story, in that it's much more intense. Stone and Regan share a love that's written in the stars- like Venus and Mars (I know I just rhymed, I promised it was unintentional, lol!). They complement each other so perfectly and love with a fierceness that is amazing to read.


This book was everything. Definitely a favourite this year!


Happy Reading!

xo

Eli


My Rating: 5 STARS


My Recommendations:

The Legacy- Dylan Allen

Show Me The Way- A.L Jackson


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page